top of page
Faint Glow

Who’s who at St James’s

Ian clergy vestry.jpeg

REVD Ian Gallagher · Vicar

Born 1971, ordained 2008. Ian hails from a large Irish family in North America, including an identical twin brother. Ian has a BMus from the Oberlin Conservatory and an MA from Duke University in voice and historical performance practice; he was a lecturer in music history at Duke before emigrating to Germany in 1997 and then worked internationally as a professional musician and stage performer. Ian became an Anglican at St George’s Berlin, where he later served as a lay pastoral assistant. Prior to his arrival in 2014 as the eleventh vicar of St James’s, Ian served as interim rector in Frankfurt am Main and as team curate in Liverpool. He has held the office of chair of the local Community and Police Engagement (CAPE) group. For the Diocese in Europe Ian serves as a formational and placement supervisor for enquirers, postulants and ordinands from continental Europe. Ian loves languages, music and theatre, travelling, most anything with subtitles, quiz evenings, and making soup.

Keith Harvey headshot.jpg

Born 1959, licensed 2019. Keith was born in Ponders End and has lived all his life in Enfield. He has been a part of St James’s since 1966 when he joined the cubs of the 1st Enfield Scout Group and is still a scout leader in Enfield.  Keith served for many years as a Junior Church leader at St James’s.  His career has mainly been spent working for local government in the Highways Department. Keith has a wide range of musical tastes (from punk to Puccini!), is a member of a local darts team, and an avid Arsenal FC supporter.  Keith is the younger of two sons to his parents who also attend St James’s, and his elder brother is also a Licensed Lay Minister, serving in Hoddesdon, Herts.  Keith married in 2015.

Keith Harvey LLM · Licensed Lay Minister


Mouse Caffell + Richard Griffiths · Churchwardens

Mouse also serves as the lay chair of church council, the audiovisual maestro and webmaster.   Moreover, he has been instrumental in the establishment of the Wednesday evening music worship session 'A Joyful Noise' as well as the recent revival of the Youth Group.  Mouse works in social care, and in the community, serves also as the chair of trustees for the Enfield Highway Community Association.  He is an avid baseball fan.

Richard also serves as our parish health & safety officer.  He worked in the senior civil service for the Department of Health, and brings to the post of churchwarden experience of capital fundraising, not to mention he writes a good risk assessment!  Richard is a keen devotee of the opera.

Marian entered the position on 1st February 2023, and also serves as the clerk to the church council. Marian is a life-long resident of the parish, living on the border of Enfield Highway and Brimsdown. She has worked for a number of firms and institutions as a computer programmer, from Bovil through to British Gas and the Metropolitan Police. Before joining us at St James’s, she has worked at GP surgeries and podiatrist practices.  Marian had long been a volunteer for the Scratching Post, a local rescue and shelter charity for cats.  Marian is a dedicated and passionate animal lover.

Marian Jacobs · Parish Administrator

Marian Jacobs_edited.jpg

Our church council (PCC)

Abiola Akinkugbe

Bayode Akinkugbe · Enfield Deanery Synod

Melloney Deacon-Powell

Sarah Field

Marian Jacobs · Enfield Deanery Synod

Shirley Robertson

Gwen Tucker

Gordon Tweddle

Ogo Uduchukwu

Derek Woodward · Treasurer

Other parish officers and postholders

Dorah Sabiiti · Church Safeguarding Officer and Sacristan

Abiola Akinkugbe · Deputy Safeguarding Officer

Paula Nicholas · Children’s Champion

Richard Griffiths · Health and Safety Officer

Gordon Tweddle · Deputy Health & Safety Officer

Adrienne Greenaway · Data Protection

                                       and Electoral Roll Officer

Mouse Caffell · Audiovisual Maestro and Webmaster

Corrine Lewis · Junior Church Co-ordinator

Carole Harvey · Flower Team Leader

Derek Woodward · St Barnabas Hall Manager

Carol Harvey · Stewardship Officer

bottom of page